For Christmas I got a cookbook that has copycat recipes in it.  This is one that we love to make.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 medium onion chopped
  • 5 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 cups half and half (I used 1% milk and it still tasted really good)
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 8 ounces broccoli, chopped
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 cups grated sharp cheddar
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (I have made it with nutmeg and without.  I like it better with out)  

Directions:

  1. Saute the onion in 1 tablespoon of melted butter.  Set aside
  2. Using a wire whisk, combine the remaining 4 table spoons melted butter and flour in a large pot over medium heat.  Cook, stirring frequently for about 4 minutes.
  3. Slowly add the half-and-half (I added the milk fast the first time and it took a little longer to get it all mixed).  Add the chicken broth, whisking all the time.  Simmer for 20 minutes.
  4. Add the broccoli, carrots and onions.  Cook over low heat until the veggies are tender, about 20 minutes.
  5. Add salt and pepper to taste
  6. By now the soup should be thick.  Pour batches into blender and puree (I only puree half.  I liked the big pieces of broccoli in my soup)
  7. Return the puree to the pot and place over low heat.  Add the cheese and stir until well blended.

I some times make this in the morning when things are a little slower.  I put it in the fridge in the pot and pull it out right before dinner.

One of my favorite desserts is carrot cake.  We found this recipe that is the best carrot cake I have tasted.  Here is the link: http://bakingbites.com/2009/03/lower-fat-carrot-sheet-cake/  We add a small can of crushed pineapple also.  If you make this cake it is best to make homemade cream cheese frosting.

